Review: Malice by John Gwynne

Malice by John Gwynne, is the first book in the Faithful and the Fallen series

Malice was Gwynne’s debut novel and is set in the Banished Lands where the god Elyon has been gone for a thousand years and the humans and giants are in conflict though for the moment limited to minor raiding. Kings seek advantage and gain, whilst others seek alliances and a better way. In this time a prophecy is about to be realised as the forces of light and dark begin to build their forces, but in this time, which is which? Into this steps Corban a boy in the kingdom of Ardan who is beginning his training as a warrior for his king as he learns what it is to grow in a time of strange happenings.

I really enjoyed Malice. This was my second time reading it and it hooked me and kept me invested from the first chapter, just as much as it did previously. The plot grabbed me from the start, the opening chapter setting the scene nicely and drawing me in as we start to learn more, not just about the characters but about the world they inhabit.

The plot developed well over the course of the book, keeping a good pace and really amping up near the end. The plot is one of good versus evil and done very well with plenty of intrigue and at times the author surprises you with some of the choices that are made and how these choices affect events later on. I particularly enjoyed the world building in Malice, John Gwynne has created an interesting world of men and giants and a history that I want to learn more of and he drops bits of lore effortlessly throughout the book as we learn more of how the land came to be and how the politics of these kingdoms fit into the world of the Banished Lands.

 The characters were written well, and I found myself sympathising with some and wanting others to open their eyes and see what was happening. There is multiple point of view characters in the book with Corban being the primary but others such as his sister Cywen and Neradis the First Sword to Prince Nathair of Tenebral (a separate kingdom to that of Ardan where Corban resides). Their stories kept me invested as the book continues. Seeing the growth of many of the characters through the book (and not just the point of view characters) and how the events in the world affected them was well done and it was a pleasure to see some of the characters really come into their own.

I loved this book the first time I read it and I loved it just as much the second time. I would highly recommend this book to almost any fan of epic fantasy though it comes with a warning be prepared for characters to have bad things happen to them. This is not a book where characters can do something without consequence and there was one moment in particular where I couldn’t help but audibly say “No”. I am excited to start the second book in the series and stay for a while in the Banished Lands. “Truth and Courage”.

Leave a comment